Go to the San Francisco Public 
Library home page
Photo Id# AAB-6654
Title [Recipients of the "Fashion Oscars"] [graphic].
Date 1950 June 14.
Description 1 photographic print: b&w.
Location Folder: S.F. Districts-Apparel City.
Reproduction Rights Permission to use this image must be obtained from the San Francisco History Center, San Francisco Public Library.
Notes Newscopy: "For their work in bringing national attention to San Francisco's apparel industry, these folk last night won 'Fashion Oscars' at a banquet of the Manufactures & Wholesalers Association. Left to right, front row, Cyril Magnin, vice president of Joseph Magnin Stores; E. C. Lipman, president of Emporium-Capwell Corp.; Miss Joan Bennett (who won a special award as outstanding representative of California fashions and spirit); J. L. Sherk, second vice president of the White House, receiving the award for Michel D. Weill, and Thomas E. Brooks, chief administrative officer of San Francisco. Back row, George De Bonis, vice president of the City of Paris, receiving the award for Paul Verdier; Sylvan Frank, president of the association, and Daniel Koshland, vice president of Levi Strauss & Co..
Subject Districts -- Apparel City.
San Francisco (Calif.) -- Photographs.
Series San Francisco Historical Photograph Collection